0×27 – [BUG] cross-thread violation of rb_gc()…

If you are running accross this error

[BUG] cross-thread violation of rb_gc()
ruby 1.8.6 (2008-08-11) [universal-darwin9.0]


- say you are are installing the latest so-called “stable” typo version on your OSX machine – then you might see the above error. Here is the solution: *remove the bundled json gem!*: It is version 1.1.3, which is way old, and apparently it contains some binaries that were compiled using ruby 1.8.6. Just install the “json” gem locally.

5 responses to “0×27 – [BUG] cross-thread violation of rb_gc()…

  1. Wow, after banging my head on this for a day, your post helped me out. I have Rails 2.3.4 and ruby 1.8.7 – but no JSON gem was installed. I simply installed the gem and now I can use rails again. sudo gem install json
    Thanks!

  2. Thank you. This is what happened to me too.. and after I found nothing on the Web I decided to at least put that small note onto my blog and let google do the rest.

  3. Thanks for this. My machine started doing this out of nowhere and this totally fixed the problem.

  4. Hey Julio,

    I am glad I could be of some help.

    Please note, that 1rad has moved to http://radiospiel.org/1rad/. New articles will only be published there (even though I have to admit there weren’t too many lately)

  5. I am frequently into running a blog it put. This wonderful write-up a stellar deal. on a routine

Leave a Reply

